Beginning 7 August 2020, Autodesk is launching new plans based on people and retiring all plans based on serial numbers.

What’s changing? Subscriptions with multi-user access and maintenance plans will retire on 7 August 2021 and cannot be further renewed. New plans for named users will replace those based on serial numbers.

What does this mean?

At your first renewal after 7 August 2020, we’ll help you transition to a plan for named users through trade-in offers that keep your costs consistent today and predictable to 2028*. The benefits of transitioning to a named user plan include:

  • Optimizing your licensing costs
  • Visibility into your software usage statistics
  • No need to manage your own license servers or track serial numbers.
  • Dedicated access for all employees who need it - no more downtime waiting for licenses.
  • Better support based on insights.
What are the transition options?
  • If you have a Network Maintenance plan or Multi-User Subscription:

You can trade-in 1 seat or subscription for 2 standard subscriptions, at your first renewal after 7 August 2020. You can then renew at an ongoing discount through 2028*.

  • If you have Standalone Maintenance:

You can trade-in 1 seat for 1 subscription, at your first renewal before 7 August 2021, for a cost consistent with what you pay today. You can then renew at an ongoing discount through 2028*.

At the time of trade-in or later, you can choose to upgrade to a higher plan for more advanced features, such as single sign-on and detailed user reporting.

What's changing and when?

16 April 2020

The last version of Design & Creation Suites will be released and the last date to renew Design & Creation Suits.

7 August 2021

Subscriptions with multi-user access and maintenance plans will retire on May 7, 2021 and cannot be further renewed.

29 February 2020

New 2-year and 3-year subscriptions with multi-user access or renewals will no longer be available.

7 August 2021

Subscriptions with multi-user access and maintenance plans will retire on May 7, 2021 and cannot be further renewed.

After August 2021, all customers:

  • Will be a named User.
  • Will select a Plan, tailored to the size and needs of their business.
  • Will have the Choice on which access works best for their team.

Ready to learn more?

Watch a brief video to learn more about your options.

Please get in touch if you have a question